Crochet Applique | MyCraftyMusings

Experiments With Felting & A Tea Cosy

My Weeks Work | MyCraftyMusings

Playing around with felted pot holders, flowers and a tea cosy

The sun has been shinning like mad here this week. So most of my time has been spent outside doing loads of garden work for my Mum. We finally got the ducks moved up to the house and most of the field cleared πŸ™‚ I love having the ducks up by the house wandering around. They are such characters!!! Luckily the dogs are completely ignoring them so far!

Ducks | MyCraftyMusings

First off experiments with felt…

Felted Crochet Potholder | MyCraftyMusings

When I picked the wool for this project I purposely picked a colour that while I do like it, it’s not a me colour. The idea being I wouldn’t be tempted to save it for something else. The texture of the wool is just so nice and squishy and soft I nearly did give in to the temptation to make a scarf even though I’d never wear it!!!

I decided to practice with pot holders as they are always needed regardless of how the turn out.

I’m not sure how I feel about how this one turned out. I like the texture but I can’t seem to get past the jarred nature of where the colours join. I thought the felting would blur the lines a bit more. Sadly not 😦 Definately going to try this again but next time I’m going to use a darker solid colour.

I also made a second potholder, unfelted and using moss stitch.

Moss Stitch Potholder | MyCraftyMusings

The smaller knit like stitches blur the colour changes really nicely πŸ™‚ I finished it off with a crab stitch border and aside from it needing blocking it is finished. I really do love the finish of this one.

Simple Tea Cosy | MyCraftyMusings

I also made another tea cosy. This time working from the bottom down for the first time. I def prefer this method it’s way less fiddly and fits better at the top :). Really happy with how the pattern turned out! Fingers crossed can replicate it again…

Bowl Of Crochet Applique Decorations | MyCraftyMusings

I also played around with with ways to decorate it.

Experimenting with circles first…

Playing WIth Circles | MyCraftyMusings

Tea Cosy With Spots | MyCraftyMusings

And then flowers…

Crochet Flower (Pattern By Skip To My Lou) | MyCraftyMusings

Pattern can be found hereΒ on Skip To My Lou.

Tea Cosy With Flowers | MyCraftyMusings

Crochet Flowers | MyCraftyMusings

I tried a few diff ones but none of them really work for me 😦

I’m prob going to go with the white flowers or just leave it plain.

I’ve put links for all the patterns I used below…

Tea Cosy with Flowers | MyCraftyMusings

The links to the patterns from top left to right are:

Large Simple Flower – 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims

Leaf – 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trims

Crochet Flower Motif – Cynthia Banessa

Crochet Daisy – Attic24

Teeny Tiny Flower – Attic24

Open Rose – 200 Crochet Flowers, Embellishments & Trim

I must admit to using the sun as an excuse to put off finishing things. Both of this weeks projects just feel a little off. Even though they have come out well I just don’t feel like they are quite right! I think I need put some distance between them and me. Though in fairness I started both these projects while the weather was cold and wet which it definately isn’t now!!!

I’ve still got loads of cotton left so I think I’m going to make something light, bright and Spring themed πŸ™‚ maybe a light shawl to help keep the sunburn away…

xxx

One thought on “Experiments With Felting & A Tea Cosy

Leave a Reply

