V-Stitch Crochet Blanket | MyCraftyMusings

Winter Crochet Projects

V-Stitch Crochet Blanket | MyCraftyMusings

 

V-Stitch Crochet Blanket | MyCraftyMusings

 

V-Stitch Crochet Blanket | MyCraftyMusings

 

V-Stitch Crochet Blanket | MyCraftyMusings

 

Mixed Granny Square Crochet Blanket | MyCraftyMusings

 

Granny Square Middles | MyCraftyMusings

 

Inspired by Jennifer over at ThistleBear I am joining in with her Winter Project Link Party again this year. If you haven’t participated in a link up before I strongly advice you too! It is a wonderful way to see what others are making and to share encouragement. It is also a really good motivator to keep going on a long project.

This Autumn/Winter I am working on two separate blankets. I have already shared a little bit about both before so apologies if this post is a little repetitive, although there has been progress on both and the pictures are new! 😀

First up is my V-Stitch Stripy blanket. This project is all for me!!!  I’m following a pattern by MyRoseValley. There are many tutorials out there for the V-Stitch but I fell in love with how she finished her blanket. It is also an absolute joy to have a project that requires no math! The pattern itself is very easy to follow, although I quickly realised my tension is very different. My blanket is coming out a lot wider than stated in the pattern. It’s all good though as it is the perfect width for me! I am using a dk wool/alpaca mix from Garn Studios called Drops Lima. I cannot understate how soft and squishy this yarn is! It is both really light and very warm and it works up beautifully! I am enjoying curling up under this work in progress so much now it is long enough to use while making it. Isn’t it just wonderful when blankets get to this point?!

My second project is very much a long-term one. I have been sharing updates on this one for well over a year now!! I starting to feel more than a little bit guilty over the lateness of this present. Luckily my sister is very understanding and is enjoying seeing it grow with each visit. I am now on the second last round though!!! I have a round of puff stitch squares joined in grey to make and then a round of simple two round granny’s in a mix of every colour used. The pattern for this granny square blanket “Brighton plaid” is from the supplement in Simply Crochet issue 33. It is designed by Cecile Balladino. I’ve stuck to the exact same motif in the pattern but have increased the amounts used as I wanted a much bigger blanket. The wool I am using is 4ply alpaca yarn also from Garn studio called Drops Alpaca.

You you guys want to join in Jennifer is hosting a link up at the beginning of each month running for a week Sat-Sat. You can find all the details here and the link to Novembers one here.

 

Thistlebear
~ Francesca xxx

19 thoughts on “Winter Crochet Projects

  1. Pingback: My Crafty Musings
  2. bekki says:

    I love both of your blankets! I can see why the blanket for your sister has taken longer than you thought, it’s got a lot of parts to it. It’s beautiful. I often under estimate how long a blanket will take to make too. I have a blanket I’ve been working on for 2 years, and another for a year and a half.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Francesca Rose says:

      I still can’t believe how naive I was thinking I could make it in a month! It took that long just to make the middle section :I Although if it wasn’t for the fact that it is a present I am actually really enjoying the length of time it is taking. It is kind of comforting knowing that it is there ready to be worked on a little bit at a time. x

      Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    Hi Francesca, thank you so much for joining in with my link party. Both of your blankets are really beautiful. I have wanted to try making something in the V stitch for a long time. I may try a scarf first but it makes such a beautiful blanket. I love your squares too, very sweet. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your projects this winter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Francesca Rose says:

      Thank you for hosting it! I attempted a scarf before in v stitch but I made the stripes on the short width and the ends defeated me really quickly 😦 it’s a lovely stitch to work with though! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

